eohsi news and announcements

Congratulations to EOHSI Members Lauren Aleksunes, Ph.D. and Phoebe Stapleton, Ph.D. Recipients of 2022 ASPET Scientific Achievement Awards

Lauren Aleksunes, Ph.D.

The ASPET Division for Pharmacology Education is pleased to award their 2022 Pharmacology Educator Awards to Drs. Lauren Aleksunes from Rutgers University, Sarah Lerchenfeldt from Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine, and Monzurul Roni from the University of Illinois at Chicago. 

The primary goal of this award is to promote participation in the ASPET Annual Meeting by pharmacology educators and to foster career development in pharmacology education.

The awards will be presented by the Division for Pharmacology Education at their virtual Town Hall on Friday, March 4, 2022 from 4:30 pm – 5:30 pm Eastern Time and the awardees will participate at the ASPET Annual Meeting at EB 2022 in Philadelphia, April 2-5.

Dr. Lauren Aleksunes from Rutgers University is receiving this award in recognition of her outstanding research in pharmacology education and her superb teaching performance in the classroom.

Dr. Aleksunes is a Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology at Rutgers University.  She received her PharmD and PhD in pharmacology and toxicology at the University of Connecticut and completed her postdoctoral training at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

Dr. Aleksunes is a board-certified toxicologist and registered pharmacist with expertise in translational pharmacology and toxicology. She joined Rutgers University in 2009 where her lab studies mechanisms of toxicity with a focus on how membrane transporters influence cellular responses to drugs and environmental chemicals. Their research addresses the impact of variation in transporter expression and function, due to life stage, genetics/epigenetics, diet, environment, and pre-existing disease, on susceptibility to chemical toxicity. Her research is currently funded by 3 R01 grants from NIEHS and NIGMS. Lauren is committed to the development of the next generation of pharmacologists and toxicologists where she teaches PharmD and PhD students. She serves as Director of the NIH T32 and R25 Toxicology training programs at Rutgers. As a clinician scientist, Lauren is also the Lead of Workforce Development for the NJ CTSA Program.  She has been a member of ASPET since 2010.

Phoebe Stapleton, Ph.D.

The ASPET Division for Toxicology is pleased to award Dr. Phoebe Stapleton from Rutgers University the 2022 Division for Toxicology Early Career Award. This award recognizes excellent original research by early career investigators in the area of toxicology.

Dr. Stapleton is receiving this award in recognition of her innovative and impactful contributions to the field of reproductive and developmental toxicology and her commitment to excellence in toxicology research.

Dr. Stapleton is a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the Pharmacology and Toxicology Department of the Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy at Rutgers University. She completed both her graduate and postdoctoral training at West Virginia University.

Her laboratory focuses on the cardiovascular implications of maternal exposure to nanomaterials during pregnancy, identifying the maternal, fetal, and offspring outcomes associated with these exposures. Most of her work has focused on inhalation of titanium dioxide nanoparticles, but recently her laboratory has begun to investigate toxicological outcomes associated with nanosized plastic particles.  Dr. Stapleton has published over 40 peer reviewed manuscripts and was recently awarded a NIEHS Outstanding New Environmental Scientist Award. She has been a member of ASPET since 2016.

The award will be presented by the Division for Toxicology at the ASPET Annual Meeting at EB 2022 in Philadelphia on Monday, April 4, 2022 where Dr. Stapleton will deliver a lecture on her research titled Can a Fetus be Affected by Aerosolized Particulates?

Source: ASPET 

170 Frelinghuysen Road, Piscataway, NJ 08854 – 848-445-0200  Fax: 732-445-0131

Copyright © 2021, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey